The car that knows when you’ll get in an accident before you do

Fusion

I’m behind the wheel of the car of the future. It’s a gray Toyota Camry, but it has a camera pointed at me from the corner of the windshield recording my every eye movement, a GPS tracker, an outside-facing camera and a speed logger. It sees everything I’m doing so it can predict what I’m going to do behind the wheel seconds before I do it. So when my eyes glance to the left, it could warn me there’s a car between me and the exit I want to take.

A future version of the software will know even more about me; the grad students developing what they’ve dubbed Brains4Cars plan to let drivers connect their fitness trackers to the car. If your health tracker “knows” you haven’t gotten enough sleep, the car will be more alert to your nodding off.

“Our entire focus is to put a lot of sensors inside the car to monitor the driver, and build…

View original post 705 more words

Leave a Reply

